Zodiac Signs Explained: What’s Your Sign?

Back to Article
Back to Article

Zodiac Signs Explained: What’s Your Sign?

Artwork by Michael Pruchanskiy

Artwork by Michael Pruchanskiy

Artwork by Michael Pruchanskiy

Artwork by Michael Pruchanskiy

Lauren Efron, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

   What is a Zodiac sign, anyway? A Zodiac sign reveals a profile of characteristics, best love matches, horoscopes, and advice based upon when a person was born. There are twelve signs: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. These 12 Zodiac signs are then divided into four subgroups: Fire signs, Earth signs, Air signs, and Water signs. Each subgroup has three signs. Read on to learn all about your very own Zodiac sign and those of your friends.

   According to an astrology website, Aries are born between March 21 and April 19; Though the dates of Aries are not the first of the year, it is the first sign because of the fact that the Sun enters the sign of Aries when it reaches the March equinox, which occurs typically on March 21. Aries tend to be are cheerful, care-free, ambitious, inspiring, action-oriented, adventurous, and positive people. On the other hand, they are impatient, selfish, egocentric, and lazy. If you know an Aries, this probably sounds familiar (astrology.com).

   Taurus are born between April 20 and May 20, making Taurus the second sign in the Zodiac calendar. Taurus are many things, but two of their most notable qualities are their stubbornness as well as their incredible loyalty. Alongside those two qualities, they tend to be trustworthy, persistent, composed, humorous, fearless, full of drive and stability, as well as having the less great qualities of pigheadedness, dominance, and sometimes having a lazy attitude (astrology.com).

   Third comes Gemini, born between May 21 and June 20. Geminis are known for having two sides to their personalities; however, they have a lot of favorable qualities. Geminis are smart, courageous, tolerant, generous, idealistic, eloquent, and expressive. In addition to their two-faced nature, they are tricky, shifty, and impulsive. Geminis get a bad rep but they have many positive qualities (astrology.com).

   Fourth, we have Cancer, born between June 21 and July 22. Cancers may be one of the hardest signs to get to know. They are patient, kind, devoted, versatile, sociable, and patriotic. They are also untruthful, untidy, and lazy, which are not exactly the best of all qualities. However, Cancers are special people so don’t judge too quickly (astrology.com).

  Born between July 23 and August 22, Leos are yet another loyal sign. Additionally, they are kind, tolerant, generous, inspiring, fearless, optimistic, and intuitive. But with all good comes bad, the bad being their arrogance, anger, impatience, and bluntness (astrology.com).

   Virgo, born between August 23 and September 22, marks the middle of the Zodiac calendar. They are the more sensitive of the signs. They are also thoughtful, efficient, intelligent, selfish, irritable, secretive, cold, and inconsistent. Virgos are always paying attention to the smallest details, which makes them one of the most careful signs of the Zodiac (astrology.com).

   Seventh comes Libra, born between the dates September 23 and October 22. Libras are known to be the lions of the Zodiac. They are unbiased, modest, affectionate, cheerful, and generous as well as indecisive, reckless, hasty, and aloof (astrology.com).

   Next is Scorpio, born between October 23 and November 21. Some say Scorpios were born fierce, which in combination with their calm, cool behavior, makes them one of the most sought after signs. Additional qualities that make Scorpios more than likable are fearlessness, energy, thoughtfulness, determination, devotion, patience, and passion. However, with the good comes the bad: Scorpios are also sarcastic, destructive, possessive, and ruthless (astrology.com).

   The happiest of the signs, Sagittarius are born between November 22 and December 21.They are sincere, fair, generous, reliable, self-dependent, and energetic. Their negative characteristics consist of over-confidence, bluntness, and aggression (astrology.com).

   To start and end the regular calendar year, there is Capricorn. They are born between December 22 and January 19, making them the most determined of all the signs. They are ambitious, wise, practical, thoughtful, positive, profound, and focused. They’re also known to be jealous, gloomy, nervous, and selfish (astrology.com).

   Second to last in the Zodiac calendar is Aquarius, born between January 20 and February 18, they are the most humanitarian of the signs. They are truthful, sincere, considerate, pleasant, intuitive, cooperative, inventive, and progressive. They’re also gullible, extreme, inconsistent, and stubborn (astrology.com).

   Finally, we finish the Zodiac calendar up with Pisces, born from February 19 to March 20. They are the most tolerant of all the signs, they are also known to be almost like a sponge, soaking up the qualities and actions of the other signs. They are compassionate, creative, kind, imaginative, peaceful, sympathetic, and hospitable. However, they are moody, careless, indecisive, and self-deprecating (astrology.com).

   “I started believing in astrology and Zodiac signs when my friend, Erika Ngo, introduced me to it. She explained all of the signs and what they meant. At first, I was hesitant to believe any of it; however, as I continued reading about it, I figured out that it was all actually very accurate and I began strongly believing in it. Now every time I meet a new person, I try to figure out their birthday so I know their sign,” explained Junior Monique Gonzalez. Gonzalez is a believer. Whether you believe in the mysterious  explanations of the Zodiac signs or not, they have been around for thousands of years.

   Zodiac signs can give people insight into their lives. Whether it means checking your horoscope, looking up your crush’s Zodiac sign to see if you are compatible, or just reading up on the characteristics of each sign for fun, Zodiac signs are fascinating.  They are both a form of entertainment as well as a belief system.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email